30 Reformations

Our 30th anniversary coincides with the 500th anniversary of Martin Luther nailing his Theses to the door at Wittenberg. We are commissioning 30 international thinkers to write 30 new reformations of institutions and authorities, challenging assumptions and imagining the world.

Philippe Sands

The Reformations were live events at Hay and at all our festivals across the world during our 30th anniversary year.

They are now available as short- and long-form video online, shared across the world through our Hay Player and partner media. They will also be collected into an anthology, available at all good bookshops and libraries.

Reformations include

  • Stephen Fry, Hay Festival President – The Internet
  • Nemat Shafik, Deputy Governor, Bank of England – Expertise
  • Janine di Giovanni, journalist – The United Nations
  • Jeanette Winterson, novelist – Marriage
  • Suzanne O’Sullivan, neurologist and writer – The NHS
  • Noel Fitzpatrick, vet – Global Health
  • Philippe Sands, lawyer, winner of The Baillie Gifford Prize – Citizenship
  • Tahmima Anam, writer – Freedom of Speech
  • Oscar Guardiola-Rivera, lawyer and writer – (War and) Peace
  • Jonathan Godfrey, Principal, TES 6th Form College of the Year
  • Peter Frankopan, writer and teacher – History
  • Jenny Valentine, YA writer – Adolescence
  • Sarah Churchwell, writer and teacher – Expertise
  • Gabrielle Walker, scientist – Climate Change
  • Elif Shafak, novelist – Honour
  • Rosie Boycott, Chair of London Food Board – Food
  • Gillian Tett, journalist and economist – Corporations
  • Danny Dorling, Geographer - Exams
  • Sarah Harper, Geographer – Age
  • Sayeeda Warsi, lawyer and politician – Faith Integration
  • Jerry Brotton, Renaissance historian – Shakespeare
  • Miriam González Durántez, lawyer – The EU